Transferring an existing domain name involves switching the domain registrar that provides the domain name registration service, so after the transfer, you will have to manage things like renewal fees or DNS record updates through the new registrar company. The transfer procedure is standard with most top-level domain name extensions. Some country-code extensions are more specific and involve different steps, but in the general case transferring a domain name entails a few basic steps and one of them is unlocking the domain name. The domain lock is a safety feature, which is being adopted by more and more registry organizations. It is a default feature supported by all generic Top-Level Domains. If a domain name is locked, it will not be possible to initiate a transfer process, so nobody can even attempt to steal your domain. The domain lock can be annulled only through the account where the domain name is registered and all new domain names that support this feature are locked by default the moment they are registered.

Registrar Lock in Shared Website Hosting

If you buy a Linux shared website hosting from our company, you will be able to administer all domain names registered through us using our Hepsia hosting Control Panel and you’ll be able to unlock any of them with just several clicks. All registrations will be shown alphabetically in the Domain Manager section of the hosting Control Panel and for each one of them you’ll see a tiny padlock symbol. Clicking it will show you the present security lock status. If the domain name is locked and you wish to transfer it, you’ll just need to click for the second time and you’ll be all set. Locking a domain is just as easy and since the domains are managed in the very same place as the web hosting account itself, you won’t have to sign in and out of different tools.